Rewind, Rewatch, Relisten Review: NCT 127 “Cherry Bomb” Mini Album

Relisten to NCT 127’s third EP, “Cherry Bomb.” PHOTO CREDIT:

NCT 127 is one of four units of the super-group NCT, and they have so much amazing music. One of their most popular albums, and one of my favorites, is their third EP “Cherry Bomb.”

“Cherry Bomb” was released on June 14, 2017, and it quickly became one of the group’s most popular albums and title tracks. I personally love this album a lot, and all of the songs are so unique and cool in their own ways.

I talked about it in my last NCT album review, but I feel like I should discuss it again because NCT has 23 members and the way they are split up confuses non-Kpop fans.

They are the biggest K-Pop group to debut in the industry having a total of 23 members; with three new members to be added soon (Shohei, Eunseok and Seunghan). The members are Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Kun, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, WinWin, Jungwoo, Lucas, Mark, Xiaojun, Hendery, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, YangYang, Shotaro, Sungchan, Chenle and Jisung. 

NCT stands for Neo Culture Technology, and the whole concept of this group is having an infinite number of members with multiple subunits. There are fixed/set subunits (groups) to NCT with a certain number of members belonging to each unit. The only members not in a set unit are Shotaro and Sungchan. 

However, Shotaro, Sungchan, Shohei, Eunseok and Seunghan will be added into the final set unit of NCT which is NCT Tokyo; which will be a Japanese unit. Rumor has it that this unit will be a nine member unit too, meaning that three new Japanese members will join NCT.

NCT U (United) is the first subunit being the only unit without set members, a rotational unit. This means that all 23 members can rotate throughout this unit depending on the concept of each comeback.

NCT 127, formed in July 2016, is the second subunit of NCT with members Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Doyoung, Jaehyun, WinWin, Jungwoo, Mark and Haechan. However, WinWin has been inactive since 2019 when he joined WayV but is still technically part of 127. Yuta, who is Japanese, is SM Entertainment’s first Japanese idol too; until Shotaro came in 2020 and Shohei in 2023. 127 is also the longitude of Seoul, South Korea.

NCT Dream came next in August 2016 as the third subunit of NCT with members Mark, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Chenle and Jisung. 

WayV, formed in December 2018, is the fourth subunit known as the Chinese unit consisting of members Kun, Ten, Winwin, Lucas, Xiaojun, Hendery and Yangyang. 

The members participating on this album are Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Doyoung, Jaehyun, WinWin, Mark and Haechan. WinWin was still a part of NCT 127 in 2017, and Jungwoo was not added yet because he was still training. 

Anyway, that was a lot. Now, let’s get into this album.

“Cherry Bomb” is the title track for this album, and it is just so catchy and awesome. The chorus just sticks with you and you can’t help but sing it over and over again. I know I can’t, I sing it anywhere and everywhere. The choreography is so unique and sharp too. Taeyong and Mark carried this song with their rap verses, while Taeil and Doyoung provided some incredible vocals. The ending of this song is my favorite part.

“Cherry Bomb (Performance Version)” is somewhat the same, but some of the members who didn’t get a lot of lines in the original version got to sing some more. Yuta, WinWin, Jaehyun and Haechan got to sing the chorus in this version which I really enjoyed.

“Running 2 U” is very unique and very interesting. I really like the techno fast-paced beat throughout the chorus. Jaehyun and Haechan’s vocals on this song were really alluring and very relaxed. I will probably repeat myself when I say this, but Taeyong and Mark’s rap verses were really creative and had a very smooth flow.

“0 Mile” is one of my favorites off of this album. It sounds like a city pop song and it is so fun and catchy. It’s definitely a dancing song that I have danced to both in my room and in my car; more than likely in public too. All of the members really shined on this song, and I especially loved Yuta and WinWin’s vocals on the chorus.

“Sun & Moon” is sung by Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Doyoung and Jaehyun. This song is one of my favorite song by NCT 127 because of how beautiful and enchanting it is. Taeil, Doyoung and Jaehyun are three out of the four main vocalists in NCT 127, and their voices on this song were absolutely amazing and heavenly. Johnny, Taeyong and Yuta didn’t get a lot of lines, but they killed it and sounded astonishing with what they had.

“Whiplash” is sung by Taeil, Taeyong, Doyoung, Jaehyun and Mark. This is a very unique hip-hop song that I really enjoy listening to. While Taeil, Doyoung and Jaehyun provide exquisite vocals, Taeyong and Mark once again kill it with their amazing rapping skills. 

“Summer 127” is a very upbeat and groovy song. This is, as the title suggests, a song to listen to in the Summertime. This song is perfect to listen to while driving with the windows down, or at a party to dance to. I love all the members’ vocals on this song and the rap verses were perfect of course.

NCT 127 is such an awesome and creative band that I think people should listen to. If you like amazing vocals, smooth and energetic raps and intense choreography, then NCT 127 is the group for you.